Writers Write,Write and Read.

The best way to become a good writer is to keep writing, writing and reading. The more you read, the better you become at writing. The more you write, the better you will get. Reading grows your mind while writing expands your soul. I am a regular reader of books, magazines and newspapers for pleasure and empowerment but at the same time I do a lot of reading about the topic I am writing about for the blog. Good writing comes from good reading. Each article I write helps me to grow mentally, emotionally and spiritually. As I read, ideas come to me and that is how I get to choose what topic I should write about. It is not surprising that when I am not sure what to write about I just pick up a book or magazine to read and this usually starts my creative juices flowing. A notebook and a pen are my handy writing tools. Writing things down in my own handwriting tends to clarify them for me.

As I read, all my senses including imagination are stimulated and my mind comes up with new ideas. I get immersed into the author’s thoughts and feelings. Reading makes me empathetic and this makes me understand others’ thoughts and feelings better. It improves my vocabulary and refreshes my memory. I gain greater knowledge of literature, science and practical knowledge.
I tend to feel exciting new experiences; others force me to revisit my childhood while others help me to see things as though I had never seen them before.
Vera Nazarian an Armenian-Russian writer said: “ Whenever you read a good book, somewhere in the world a door opens to allow in more light.”
Proverb 15:23 of the Book of Proverbs of the Bible says: What a joy it is to find just the right word for the right occasion.
Sometimes what I am looking for is a simple word or phrases to slot in my post and on most occasions I find it in a book, magazine or newspaper that I am reading. You may not be able to imagine the smile on my face under such circumstances.

Studies done in USA and Europe have shown that a lifetime of reading preserves mental ability, preserves memory and slows down the signs of dementia.
To fully enjoy the benefits of consistent reading, one must start early in childhood. Maya Angelou’s advice still holds true. She said that : “ Any book that helps a child to form a habit of reading, to make reading one of his deep and continuing needs, is good for him.’’
For any avid reader, it is exciting to be alive during the Digital era. The Digital books can be easily downloaded using your e-reader, smart phone or a mobile tablet. The biggest challenge now is finding the time to read all those books.
The writers will continue to write the best books they can and we the readers will go out there to buy them and read them for knowledge, entertainment, adventure and fun.

Thank you for reading this post. I would love to hear how consistent reading has influenced your life. Feel free to share this post with family and friends.

 

Leave a comment